FKA Kiteboarding Forums  

Go Back   FKA Kiteboarding Forums > KITEBOARDING AT ... launches, precautions, SCHOOLS, SHOPS, meets, local groups and more > Northeast Florida
Connect with Facebook

Old 07-07-2008, 06:49 AM

Default Kitesurfing around Orlando

Hi all,

My apologies if this 's not the right place for this kind of post.

Otherwise, I'm from France & 'll be visiting relatives in Orlando this coming August. I've been kitesurfing quite frequently since 2001.

I've several questions which 're :

1. Would there be any chance to kitesurf somewhere near to Orlando during this period ?

2. What would be the nearest spots to Orlando ?

3. Are there any 'administrative' requirements to kitesurf at these spots ?

4. If I bring just one C-type kite & board 122cmx37cm, what would be the recommended kite size ?

Thx in advance for any reply

Chanh
Old 07-07-2008, 07:21 AM
Can't Re-member

Chanh,

1. Chances are no, unless there is a hurricane or tropical storm , and these are still iffy

2. Cocoa bch, Melbourne or St Petersburg or Daytona bch

3. No requirements, but they will be very crowded with beachgoers so common sense applies

4. for a 122x37cm board during that time you will likely need a 30m kite, unless there is a tropical storm WHICH COMES NEARBY which is impossible to predict

your best option is to surf or SUP IMHO
Old 07-07-2008, 07:56 AM
Administrator
Site Admin

BigR has it right, August is normally our lightest wind month of the year with the least amount of useable wind. There may or may not be useable wind from tropical systems coming through. Just because a storm system has wind like a depression or hurricane, doesn't mean it is "useable" however, i.e. too much (10 kts. to 70 kts.+), too suddenly, direction shifts, lightning, etc..