FKA Kiteboarding Forums  

Go Back   FKA Kiteboarding Forums > MAIN FORUM > ** KITER BUZZ **
Connect with Facebook

Old 10-17-2006, 10:51 AM

Default Those !@#$#*@$(#$ beginners!

Attention all beginners!

One thing that I have hated and has bothered the hell out of me is the disrespect and lack of support for beginners. I know not all of you intermediate to advanced riders paid to have an instructor watch every session until you were running upwind and never falling off your plane. However, I am beginning to really see why beginners are getting this disrespect and it is our own fault. I don't understand why beginners insist on launching near other kiters in crowded areas, or when weather conditions are not favorable.

Before I continue let me explain where I am coming from. I am a beginner, I have not had training from a formal instructor, and however I have had guidance from experienced kiters. I have review several training videos as well as spend countless amounts of time watching other kiters, and not just the tricks. Focusing on the launch, water start, board angle, body angle, kite positioning. I have been into stunt kites for years and can control a trainer no problem. As of now I can not edge upwind, I can somewhat hold my ground and I fall and loose my board a lot. But I am extremely motivated to learn the sport and I am very glad the wind starting to come so I can truly progress.

However, I do not kite in conditions I am not comfortable in and I stay away from all other kiters when riding. What is making me upset however is seeing how people near or at my level are working on making it to where any kind of self learning will not be possible cause I will have to have an IKO level 3 certification to put my kite in the air. I have been and will be a respectful beginner.