FKA Kiteboarding Forums  

Go Back   FKA Kiteboarding Forums > General Discussion > HOW TO START, Kiteboarding Training & Schools > HOW TO START ...
Connect with Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/rick.iossi

Old 02-24-2009, 02:08 PM

Default looking for guidance

hey guys... first post, my name is Dennis and I was given 2 kites by a friend of mine they are both Globe riders one is 15m and the other is 18m. with a bar. My question is the following: Because of work, I'm moving down to Ecuador, south america on the pacific side. I'm new to this sport but I love it. The guidance that I'm looking for is regarding the board. What size board to be more especific. I'm 5'-11", 200-210 lbs and would like to catch some air as I progress in my classes down in Ecuador. As you all prob know the pacific waves are big and spaced bigger than on the atlantic so I don't know if a surfboard will do better than a kiteboard. What I'm trying to do is gather all the gear I need so that I take everything with me at once. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 02-24-2009, 02:51 PM
Administrator
Site Admin

Hello Dennis,

What sort of winds do you expect to have in Ecuador? Also, what year and model are your kites? Are they C or flat (SLE) kites? I would guess C but am not sure. I have yet to make Ecuador but even at your weight you might want a 9 m flat kite in stronger conditions. Even in C kites, a quiver consisting of 15 and 18 m kites is targeted at pretty light winds. Important question, have you had any lessons yet?

transcribed by:
Rick Iossi
Old 02-25-2009, 08:24 PM

when winds are high... the waves are big, so I believe that the kites are a good size for me, don't know for sure. the winds are normally low... dont know exactly what speed. I'm currently looking for clases probably this weekend @ ft. Laud. beach the kites are Curl model, I cannot say what yr they are... I don't know.
Thanks
Old 03-04-2009, 10:41 PM