FKA Kiteboarding Forums  

Go Back   FKA Kiteboarding Forums > SE Florida And The Keys Forum > What's happening?
Connect with Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/rick.iossi

Old 02-07-2008, 09:59 PM

Default Delray questions

How far south from the anchor park beach access can you launch?

I'm still very new to kiteboarding, and for the past two days, I've walked a good distance south to keep out of everyone's way. The few guys I HAVE talked to, say I'm alright until the lifeguard stands, which are well down the beach. I just didn't know if any of the residents that live by there are real sticklers about kiters. It only takes one person to ruin it, and it's such a beautiful spot. My buddy that went with me said the house they blew up for the movie Bad Boys is right there. Anyways, I only got in a few hours in before I had to pack it in... work is overrated :P

I also noticed a couple golden retrievers out there too. What are the rules regarding dogs? My aussie shep/border collie mix has never seen the beach

Until I can ride upwind properly, I'm going to get monster calve muscles from running back up the beach . I may be the new guy, but I'm hooked... no pun intended
Old 02-08-2008, 06:05 AM
Administrator
Site Admin

Good questions, thanks for asking and caring about preserving access. It sounds like you are already walking way upwind of the out of bounds area while you are still working on riding/staying upwind, excellent. People need to know that if it is blowing out of the S to SE they need to go way to the south and walk back well before the hobie cats on the beach. Or, if it is blowing from the N to NE to stay well north of Atlantic Dunes Park a mile to the south.