FKA Kiteboarding Forums  

Go Back   FKA Kiteboarding Forums > General Discussion > HOW TO START, Kiteboarding Training & Schools > HOW TO START ...
Connect with Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/rick.iossi

Old 03-15-2007, 03:47 AM

Question Rigging and Control 4line LEI

I have a question regarding control of 4-line LEI kites.

I'm just getting started and per the advice that I keep seeing from the overwhelming majority, I'm trying to go as slowly and smartly as possible.

I'm living in southern Kuwait (not much help down here) and have spent the past three months learning to master a 2.4m Flexfoil traction kite. Before I progress to the next level, I'm trying to get as much info as possible.

I haven't been able to find much info on the internet that covers the complete rigging (from the bar, all the way to the kite attach points) of a 4-line LEI. From what I've seen, it looks to me like the control (outside) lines on the LEI are attached to the trailing edge (opposite of my current kite). I want to know if what I think I'm seeing is correct. If that is the case, what method of control is this (braking, increased lift)? I'm trying to get it straight in my head because it doesn't make sense to me.

Thanks in advance!

Patrick
Old 03-15-2007, 05:27 AM
Skyway Scott

Patrick,

Sounds like you are using a quad line traction kite with handles. I used those for use with a buggy. (Flexi.... yeah baby!!)

If you have mastered that kite, then you have a real good understanding of how a kite works.
You do have it right, in terms of the setup on a kite-board kite, with a bar. (it is backwards from your traction kite in terms of leading/trailing... steering/power control)

The biggest difference is that we use a bar and a loop attached to the center lines. The center line with loop runs through the middle of the bar and allows us to sheet in and sheet out (power up and spill power) when that center loop is "anchored" to our harness.