FKA Kiteboarding Forums  

Go Back   FKA Kiteboarding Forums > St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Forum > What's going on?
Connect with Facebook

Old 04-10-2007, 03:35 PM

Default lauching from a boat

I have been kiting for about 6 months now mostly on the flats around the st.pete pier and coquina key from a boat. And just wondering if any one out there as any tips on how to rig, launch and land seeing how there are probably better ways to do it then i have thought of. Thanks for any tip.
Old 04-10-2007, 05:53 PM
Can't Re-member

obviously from a boat is suboptimal and a last resort if there's no alternative.

But

There are many strategies, some good, others not well thought out.

prolly a good general idea is to pre-inflate your kite and connect your lines then put your bar next to a bucket and start winding your lines in a spiral fashion into the bucket and carry the whole mess in a geometically aligned way into the boat and launch in the opposite manner. If you don't have two people it at least doubles the complexity tho' I've not tried solo from a boat. Landing, just crash it into the water . Duh, not much else to do.

good luck

there really is not much need to boat launch in TB with our access to all wind directions, but I won't say I didn't do it when I lived in Gibsonton.
It can be novel and a thrill at times as well as gives you great secluded kite spots if thats what you're after
Old 04-10-2007, 07:23 PM

If your setting up on a sand bar it can be easier, than on land. Anchor from the stern, while you set up your kite only, this could swamp your vessel in rough seas, but keeps your kite from getting caught on an engine or anything in the stern.